Uncategorized

To the one cheerleader…

With love for my elder brother whom I lovingly call Bhayya.

{If you have that one person in your life who has tremendous amount of trust in you and your abilities. He/she stands up and claps for you when no one else does, let me tell you, you are lucky}

When I look back and tries to make sense of my plunges in the dark and how I wriggle out of it… I know I can’t give it all to my own abilities.

For those who say I am strong, resilient, and opinionated. Let me confess –

I was scared to death; my heart was throbbing and the waves I could feel up to my dried throat before I came to address a house full of glaring eyes. Applause at the end, never came to know about the fears that were ensued and stifled.

Before I turned up with hope, I had cried a ton and thought it was the end of the world.

When I was asked a question, my first thought was to shrink back into my shell.

I fell and rose,

 Blundered and rectified,

Cowered and showed up

Not because of mettle or guts…

I waded through all those because somebody had put trust in me and gave me unconditional support.

I have one cheerleader in my life who believes in my abilities more than I do, who never judges me in light of right and wrong. I have no inhibitions of speaking my mind. I am understood. He is the first person I want to share my joys and sorrows, who would work patiently to translate papers to me so that I could write synopsis, who worked with me to prepare my first presentation.

Who never advised me wrongly, when I acted defiantly and suffered, he never turned to say – ‘see I told you so’. Instead, who would say – ‘you did because you deemed it right. It was right thing to do. Now get up and move.’

If you have that one person who has a big heart, patient enough to listen to your confused rumblings rants until it starts making sense to you. No matter what, you know, he is there. He stands up and claps for you when no one else does, let me tell you, you are very lucky.

I am blessed to have such a person in my life.

Leave a comment